Our Team

Staff

Alex Birnel

Advocacy Manager

alex@movesanantonio.org

In the office: 

  • giving young people a voice on issues important to Texas
  • leading all aspects of our issue campaigns and direct actions

Out of the office:

  • either staying in and watching Gilmore Girls or going out, crowd surfing, and losing hearing
  • eternal mood is John Cusack in the rain
  • will remind you constantly that another world is possible

Raven Douglas

Deputy Director

raven@movesanantonio.org

In the office:

  • leading all aspects of our volunteer program, including recruitment and management
  • recruiting, training and managing young people enrolled in our spring, summer and fall leadership development programs

Out of the office:

  • brunching with family and friends
  • concert connoisseur
  • binge watching HGTV and Buzzfeed videos

Drew Galloway

Executive Director / Coach Pop of Team MOVE

drew@movesanantonio.org

In the office:

  • developing and executing innovative, nonpartisan initiatives that engage young people in the political process.
  • fundraising, relationship-building, and advocating for progressive issues that affect young people

Out of the office:

  • petting all the kitties, especially his tabby Hermes
  • trying to figure out what day it is
  • being incredibly colorblind

Cecilia Gutierrez

San Marcos Field Organizer

cecilia@movesanantonio.org

In the office:

  • manage a team of fellows and interns to register thousands of young people to vote in San Marcos
  • equipping young voters with the information they need to cast a ballot and help them make a plan to vote

Out of the office:

  • consuming ramen at alarming rates
  • taking ungodly amounts of selfies with my puppers
  • reading books regarding human behavior and psychology

Zack Magallanez

Special Projects Field Organizer

zack@movesanantonio.org

In the office:

  • manage a team of 1 fellow and 2-3 interns to execute Parties at the Polls across the state
  • utilize this program to engage young and/or underrepresented voters and increase voter turnout

Out of the office:

  • listening to 90’s hip-hop at all times
  • running and playing recreational sports with friends
  • constantly rewatching the entire San Antonio Spurs 2014 Finals series against the Miami Heat

Cristina Medina

Bexar County Field Organizer

cristina@movesanantonio.org

In the office:

  • managing scheduling, calendars, and other logistics
  • running our administrative and operations programs

Out of the office:

  • can be found at Steel City Pops or Hopdoddy on a weekly basis
  •  lover of coffee shops (but only drinks ICED coffee) and all things sweet
  • constantly finding reasons to talk about Dallas

Jesus Ochoa

Laredo Field Organizer

jesus@movesanantonio.org

In the office:

  • manage a team of fellows and interns to register thousands of young people to vote in Laredo 
  • equipping young voters with the information they need to cast a ballot and help them make a plan to vote

Out of the office:

  • obsessively fighting the good grammar fight
  • spending hours scrolling through Netflix without ever actually watching anything in the end
  • putting buffets out of business

Alyssa Pope

San Antonio Field Organizer / MOVE Mom

alyssa@movesanantonio.org

In the office:

  • manage a team of 5-10 fellows and 15-20 interns to register thousands of young people to vote in San Antonio
  • equipping young voters with the information they need to cast a ballot and help them make a plan to vote

Out of the office:

  • diligently listening to Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me (the NPR news quiz) every weekend
  • reading every graphic novel that the San Antonio Public Library system has to offer
  • talking chisme about local politics to anyone who will listen

Madison Porras

Communications Associate / Director of Snacks

madison@movesanantonio.org

In the office:

  • developing and implementing internal and external communications initiatives
  • managing digital communications to help promote and spread our message

Out of the office:

  • obsessively taking pictures of her dog Gemma
  • taking a break from a true crime podcast to watch a true crime documentary
  • eating, sleeping, and breathing graphic design

Sean Rivera

Organizing Manager / Father of the MOVE baby

sean@movesanantonio.org

In the office:

  • manage a team of 5-10 fellows and 15-20 interns to register thousands of young people to vote in San Antonio
  • equipping young voters with the information they need to cast a ballot and help them make a plan to vote

Out of the office:

  • campaign volunteering and independent political organizing
  • graduating from UTSA with studies in Political Science, Business, and Communication
  • enjoying life with partner, Cole, and expecting their first child, Calina.

 

Johnson Simmons

Austin Field Organizer

johnson@movesanantonio.org

Victoria Stoner

Development Associate

victoria@movesanantonio.org

In the office:

  • managing our robust monthly donor program and increasing monthly revenue through creative member recruitment and stewardship
  • planning and managing successful and memorable fundraising events

Out of the office:

  • dreaming about having an edible garden
  • crocheting the world’s weirdest blanket
  • struggling not to laugh out loud at my phone while in public

Frankie Trynoski

San Antonio Field Organizer

frankie@movesanantonio.org

Fall 2018 Fellows

Jazmyne Brooks

Special Projects Fellow

jazmyne@movesanantonio.org

Reilly Campbell

Austin Field Fellow

reilly@movesanantonio.org

Julissa Cantu

San Antonio Field Fellow

julissa@movesanantonio.org

Carlos Cardona

Laredo Field Fellow

carlos@movesanantonio.org

Krystel Castillo

Laredo Field Fellow

krystel@movesanantonio.org

Ashton Condel

Special Projects Fellow

ashton@movesanantonio.org

Noelani Cubillos-Sanchez

Special Projects Fellow

noelani@movesanantonio.org

Austin Dolan

San Antonio Issue Advocacy Fellow

austin@movesanantonio.org

Erika Elizarrarez

San Antonio Immigration Fellow

erika@movesanantonio.org

Seven Flores

Laredo Immigration Fellow

seven@movesanantonio.org

Vanessa Garcia

San Antonio Immigration Fellow

vanessa@movesanantonio.org

Ana-Sofia Gonzalez

San Antonio Field Fellow

anasofia@movesanantonio.org

Carmen Lindsay

San Marcos Field Organizer

carmen@movesanantonio.org

Erick Razo

Austin Field Fellow

erick@movesanantonio.org

Elisabeth-Anne Ruiz

Volunteer Coordinator

elisabeth@movesanantonio.org

Erin Seifert

San Antonio Field Fellow

erin@movesanantonio.org

Gabriela Tijerina

Laredo Field Fellow

gabriela@movesanantonio.org

Cuahtemoc Toren

San Antonio Field Fellow

temo@movesanantonio.org

Mary Uribe

San Antonio Immigration Fellow

mary@movesanantonio.org

Lukas Valdes

Seguin Immigration Fellow

lukas@movesanantonio.org

Sebastian Waddy

San Antonio Field Fellow

sebastian@gmail.com