Our Team

Staff

Alex Birnel

Advocacy Manager

alex@movesanantonio.org

In the office: 

  • giving young people a voice on issues important to Texas
  • leading all aspects of our issue campaigns and direct actions

Out of the office:

  • either staying in and watching Gilmore Girls or going out, crowd surfing, and losing hearing
  • eternal mood is John Cusack in the rain
  • will remind you constantly that another world is possible

Raven Douglas

Leadership Manager

raven@movesanantonio.org

In the office:

  • leading all aspects of our volunteer program, including recruitment and management
  • recruiting, training and managing young people enrolled in our spring, summer and fall leadership development programs

Out of the office:

  • brunching with family and friends
  • concert connoisseur
  • binge watching HGTV and Buzzfeed videos

Drew Galloway

Executive Director / Coach Pop of Team MOVE

drew@movesanantonio.org

In the office:

  • developing and executing innovative, nonpartisan initiatives that engage young people in the political process.
  • fundraising, relationship-building, and advocating for progressive issues that affect young people

Out of the office:

  • petting all the kitties, especially his tabby Hermes
  • trying to figure out what day it is
  • being incredibly colorblind

Cecilia Gutierrez

San Marcos Field Organizer

cecilia@movesanantonio.org

In the office:

  • manage a team of fellows and interns to register thousands of young people to vote in San Marcos
  • equipping young voters with the information they need to cast a ballot and help them make a plan to vote

Out of the office:

  • consuming ramen at alarming rates
  • taking ungodly amounts of selfies with my puppers
  • reading books regarding human behavior and psychology

Zack Magallanez

Special Projects Field Organizer

zack@movesanantonio.org

In the office:

  • manage a team of 1 fellow and 2-3 interns to execute Parties at the Polls across the state
  • utilize this program to engage young and/or underrepresented voters and increase voter turnout

Out of the office:

  • listening to 90’s hip-hop at all times
  • running and playing recreational sports with friends
  • constantly rewatching the entire San Antonio Spurs 2014 Finals series against the Miami Heat

Cristina Medina

Executive Assistant / Chief of Stuff

cristina@movesanantonio.org

In the office:

  • managing scheduling, calendars, and other logistics
  • running our administrative and operations programs

Out of the office:

  • can be found at Steel City Pops or Hopdoddy on a weekly basis
  •  lover of coffee shops (but only drinks ICED coffee) and all things sweet
  • constantly finding reasons to talk about Dallas

Jesus Ochoa

Laredo Field Organizer

jesus@movesanantonio.org

In the office:

  • manage a team of fellows and interns to register thousands of young people to vote in Laredo 
  • equipping young voters with the information they need to cast a ballot and help them make a plan to vote

Out of the office:

  • obsessively fighting the good grammar fight
  • spending hours scrolling through Netflix without ever actually watching anything in the end
  • putting buffets out of business

Alyssa Pope

San Antonio Field Organizer / MOVE Mom

alyssa@movesanantonio.org

In the office:

  • manage a team of 5-10 fellows and 15-20 interns to register thousands of young people to vote in San Antonio
  • equipping young voters with the information they need to cast a ballot and help them make a plan to vote

Out of the office:

  • diligently listening to Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me (the NPR news quiz) every weekend
  • reading every graphic novel that the San Antonio Public Library system has to offer
  • talking chisme about local politics to anyone who will listen

Madison Porras

Communications Associate / Director of Snacks

madison@movesanantonio.org

In the office:

  • developing and implementing internal and external communications initiatives
  • managing digital communications to help promote and spread our message

Out of the office:

  • obsessively taking pictures of her dog Gemma
  • taking a break from a true crime podcast to watch a true crime documentary
  • eating, sleeping, and breathing graphic design

Sean Rivera

Organizing Manager / Father of the MOVE baby

sean@movesanantonio.org

In the office:

  • manage a team of 5-10 fellows and 15-20 interns to register thousands of young people to vote in San Antonio
  • equipping young voters with the information they need to cast a ballot and help them make a plan to vote

Out of the office:

  • campaign volunteering and independent political organizing
  • graduating from UTSA with studies in Political Science, Business, and Communication
  • enjoying life with partner, Cole, and expecting their first child, Calina.

 

Victoria Stoner

Development Associate

victoria@movesanantonio.org

In the office:

  • managing our robust monthly donor program and increasing monthly revenue through creative member recruitment and stewardship
  • planning and managing successful and memorable fundraising events

Out of the office:

  • dreaming about having an edible garden
  • crocheting the world’s weirdest blanket
  • struggling not to laugh out loud at my phone while in public

Frankie Trynoski

San Antonio Field Organizer

frankie@movesanantonio.org

Summer 2018 Fellows

Spencer Bierschwale

Seguin Field Fellow

spencer@movesanantonio.org

Gladys Brew

San Antonio Field Fellow

gladys@movesanantonio.org

Krystel Castillo

Laredo Field Fellow

krystel@movesanantonio.org

Noelani Cubillos-Sanchez

Special Projects Fellow

noelani@movesanantonio.org

Austin Dolan

Issue Advocacy Fellow

austin@movesanantonio.org

Erika Elizarrarez

San Antonio Immigration Fellow

erika@movesanantonio.org

Seven Flores

Laredo Field Fellow

seven@movesanantonio.org

Vanessa Garcia

San Antonio Immigration Fellow

vanessa@movesanantonio.org

Elisabeth Ruiz

San Antonio Field Fellow

elisabeth@movesanantonio.org

Erin Seifert

San Antonio Field Fellow

erin@movesanantonio.org

Arlenne Serna

San Antonio Immigration Fellow

arlenne@movesanantonio.org

Johnson Simmons

San Antonio Field Fellow

johnson@movesanantonio.org

Mary Uribe

San Antonio Immigration Fellow

mary@movesanantonio.org

Lukas Valdes

Seguin Immigration Fellow

lukas@movesanantonio.org

Spring 2018 Interns
Noelle Barrera
Julissa Cantu
Gaige Davila
Sarah Duran
Myles Garcia
Markus Gudino
Freddy Hernandez
Audrey Herrera
Kaylon Hoover
Hana Kruger
Lorena Leza
Andrew Markowski
Bruno Montes de Oca
Sarah Torres
Cuahtemoc Toren